Memoirs of a Closet Freak – Take 1: Fashion Inspired…

1 Aug

Inspiration…

I recently came across a copy of the May issue of Gotham magazine with Daniel Radcliffe on the cover page. Not much of a Harry Potter fan but definitely a fan of Radcliffe’s style! Lets just say inspiration was tugging on my inner stylist! I am a sucker for the nude color or I guess tan to some folks and there is no doubt that I am nurturing a summer romance with stripes. But a combination of the two; just blew my socks off! There is just something about the neutral tones set against the calming stripes that screams modern, trendy and fashion forward.

Well inspiration had me mind-sifting through my closet for pieces that could, to some extent, replicate this fetching ensemble without breaking my piggy bank or running off on a shopping binge (one I cannot afford at the moment). After some olds, news and a boatload of imagination, I made it do what it do!!!

The Old…

My Express tan summer jacket gives a new meaning to old yet still fashionable. ‘Old’… yes, (pushing eight years when I snagged this bad boy during my young professional New Yorker days)… but definitely a keeper for a rainy day. Its functional flaps and pockets coupled with stitching details and modern zipper in the front gives this item an ever modern appeal and a style that transcends fashion eras.

The New…

In order to make this outfit ‘work appropriate’, I replaced dark blue jeans with my dark navy blue New York & Company signature pants. This piece has been part of my closet for about a year, so still got its new appeal.

The new comers of the ensemble include my striped tank top from H&M, a great find within their summer sales line, (definitely appealed to my new found love for stripes as well as my limited budget) and my pride and joy caramel heels representing the Zara woman, also on sale.

Imagination…

I have a new fascination with thin belts and within my growing collection, I found a nude/tan belt, a perfect contender for representing my style and giving the ensemble a little more pizzazz. The belt cuts the flow of the tank top and gives the outfit some contouring if you will.

And voila!!! This is what I call the old, the new and some imagination: A conservative, yet stylish ensemble for work!

3 Responses to “Memoirs of a Closet Freak – Take 1: Fashion Inspired…”

  1. RB August 1, 2011 at 5:51 pm #

    Me like… it works and you do it effortlessly. Looking forward to more looks 🙂

    • ajabeasi August 1, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

      Thanks for your vote of approval… it means a lot!!!! Stay tuned!

  2. pearlspeeptoespretty August 10, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

    I loooove those Zara shoes and have been drooling over them for a while now! Hot!

Leave a Reply

