Memoirs of a Closet Freak – Take 2: Sassy Professional

3 Aug

You work in a professional setting, so owning a suit is quite inevitable; however wearing stuffy suits all year round could be a real drag. You may want to spice up your ‘professional’ a bit; especially in the summer months, so going to work does not seem like such a chore. Well, I for one love ‘sassy’ as my most adequate spice! Sassy professional is all about diluting your professional a bit with fun items, accessories and colors, that not necessary take away from the professional look but makes it more fun and inviting in a complimenting way.

This is how I wear my sassy professional:

In place of a boring stuffy jacket, I opted for my navy blue H&M blazer, definitely a ‘this summer’ must have piece.  As if the sleek navy blue color was not persuasive enough, this item had me at hello with its signature tailored cut and striped inner lining. The overlapping front panel accentuates a narrow waistline, opened or closed, which personifies a sassy yet professional appeal. The dual nature of this piece makes it a suitable companion for work… as well as play!

Now this is a perfect example for why it’s important to keep key old pieces. My skirt… a hundred years old!!!! Okay, not that old but it could as well be! Another piece obtained during my New Yorker days, I remember –  it was love at first sight and I can’t seem to rid myself of this piece. Not only is it a great piece to have but also a perfect weight gain deterrent to keep my hips and waist in check (I will cut myself before I decide to give up this skirt).  Anyway, it was a match made in design heaven when I brought these two bad boys together. The A-line cut of the skirt and the blue trimmings at the hem all spell sass!

A little color was the final piece of this ensemble. To offset the calming blue and stripes, I thought a couple red items were best suited for the job. My red tank from New York & Company and my red Aldo pumps made the cut! Both items pushing about four years of ownership. With that I was ready to tackle the world in my sassy professional!

6 Responses to “Memoirs of a Closet Freak – Take 2: Sassy Professional”

  1. Maame August 3, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    I absolutely love this outfit! I’m a blazer/jacket freak and that skirt is to die for!

    I am always trying to mix things up in our our business-casual workplace, usually dressy casual or “sassy professional”. Keep the tips coming!

    • ajabeasi August 3, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

      Woman after my own heart!!!! I too am such a blazer/jacket freak and so Fall has always been my season! Anyway thanks for reading and do stay tuned!

  2. LAOw August 3, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

    I likey. It has a nautical vibe too.

  3. kradlekouture August 4, 2011 at 1:23 am #

    Awesome read……as usual. I definitely want to grow up to be just like you lil’ sis!!!

  4. RB August 4, 2011 at 9:09 am #

    Nod of approval!

  5. Beljoa August 4, 2011 at 10:49 am #

    Great piece- I love it v-much! The red bag and vest definitely echo fun & sexy.

Leave a Reply

