Memoirs of a Closet Freak – Take 3: Piecewise Functions

5 Aug

Don’t be fooled by the heading… in no way is this some kind of mathematical experiment. As a math major, during my college years, piecewise functions were my least favorite topic; however as a working woman currently, I swear by putting pieces together to get that decent look and style.  Hopefully, by now you may have caught onto the fact that I am a sucker for jackets, belts, scarves, blouses etc. I do love dresses; however I find that I personally can be a bit more creative with pieces. Pieces and layering go hand in hand; and in my humble opinion it is the most appropriate for a Corporate environment – a jacket, a vest or a sweater over a blouse, dress or tank top can transform professional into professional chic.

 Sometimes it is necessary to go heavy on the professional (usually when there are meetings scheduled), however it is important for me not to compromise on personal style or color, for that matter! Corporate colors can be a bit dull and boring sometimes; so that is why it is necessary to jazz it up with bold and defining accessories. I am definitely a sucker for the black, grey and red combination:

Here, I am wearing my patterned grey and white skirt (collection from a couple years back), my red ruffle blouse (2011 Summer Style Collection) and for a little dramatic effect, I also have my black waist jacket or vest, all pieces from New York & Company. To complete the styling I was going for, I am wearing my Express thin black patent belt with metal buckle. This is to give the outfit more personality and spank.

Using pieces personally gives me creative flair and also prevents me from being pigeon-holed into traditional corporate styling. You could enter that meeting room looking like everyone else…. or dare to be different with a little color and some creative pieces…. 

I may not be the overall boss lady (yet)… but I am definitely the boss of my style! lol

2 Responses to “Memoirs of a Closet Freak – Take 3: Piecewise Functions”

  1. Maame August 5, 2011 at 5:57 pm #

    Yes, you are a boss of style!! I love the combo and I actually have the exact same belt in black and bone :-). I really like how the red top makes the who outfit pop, keep the memoirs coming!

  2. pearlspeeptoespretty August 10, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

    I LOVE it. A different yet classy spin on the working professional!

Leave a Reply

