Memoirs of a Closet Freak – Take 5: Something borrowed…

11 Aug

Memoirs, as you must have already gathered is a creative section of my fashion blog that showscases cool work outfits and personal styling if you will. To make it less about me and more about my audience, I will also be featuring work ensembles of other work colleagues and friends, who in my books have definitely got it right in identifying their personal style and look fabulous strutting their stuff in the office corridors.

My feature today is on my fabulous colleague Evelyn who definitely knows her ABC when it comes to looking great in the office. Her style exudes comfort and sassy and definitely a boatload of fashionable. I had to do a double take as I came across her looking fun and flirty in her African inspired outfit. Not only was her choice of colors a slam dunk thumbs up for the summer season but her piece selection blended very well with her personal style. To set off her funny bubbly personality, Evelyn matched her burnt orange, brown and turquoise African fabric pencil skirt (a great gift she got from Ghana, big ups to the motherland) with a turquoise ruffle blouse from Ross. Staying true to the color scheme at hand, she loosely wore a burnt orange scarf over her shoulders.

  

I like this outfit because it is very representative of Evelyn’s style and her personality. It is a perfect blend of chic and causal. Of course there is no doubt that I was more than pleased to see someone from another cultural background repping African fashion, Ghanaian fashion to be exact, with such confidence and flair. It is an example of how fashion does indeed transcend any cultural background.

This fashionista is no stranger to great style and working with pieces and definitely gets my stamp of approval! Apart from her styling abilities, Evelyn rocks a mean ‘penmanship’ through her blog Still Kissie. Very interesting read! Now don’t be inspired by just her style but definitely check out her blog and Twitter page!

3 Responses to “Memoirs of a Closet Freak – Take 5: Something borrowed…”

  1. Busola August 11, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

    Go Kissie! I love that skirt!

  2. Keisha Lynn August 11, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    I love thi outfit…. the colors are really pretty on you.

Leave a Reply

