Memoirs of a Closet Freak – Take 7: Best of Both Worlds

25 Aug

I not only marvel at or write about  traditional African fabrics cut into more modern applications and styles, but I do practice what I preach! I think as a fashionista in the diaspora, in my humble opinion, the two greatest inventions  ever made (2) Skype (1) modern styles cut out of African fabrics!  Back in the day, the only time I would don a full set kaba and slit (ceremonial clothing for Ghanaian women) is when celebrating International Day in school, and even with that I couldn’t wait for the end of the day to literally ‘hubble’ back (the slit were always a challenge to walk briskly in) to my dormitory and peel off the sweat inducing outfit! Don’t get me wrong, I totally adore the beautiful patterns and colors that are always representative of African fabrics and I always felt proud strutting down the student center representing where I come from and the admiring looks I did get from some of the students! But lets face it, anyone who has worn a traditional kaba and slit knows for sure it’s definitely not too appropriate for a hot summer afternoon here in the States! So bravo to the fashion genius who started the revolution of creating more functional garments using African fabrics. Now African fabrics can be worn everywhere…even to work! (Haha, I chuckle at the sight of me in a kaba and slit at work). Not only does this application increase our wardrobe options but it also allows other people from other cultures to partake in our culture through fashion – don’t believe me…, check out my 5th update in memoirs as I showcased a colleague in a skirt made from Ghanaian fabric…and no; I did not pay her to wear that! (just in case anyone out there was thinking that!) lol.

Anyway, so I did take a page from Evelyn’s (my colleagues) fashion book and decided to bring ‘Ghana’  to work with me too! Needless to say, I did get some great comments about my outfit, but more importantly I felt great and proud representing my motherland:

 

Mucho gratitude to my homegirl (Yvette) for contributing to this outfit by way of my lovely mustard, red and black Ghanaian fabric skirt by aje Pomaa Design Gallery. The pencil cut makes it very appropriate for the board room and the pleated front definitely amps up the wow factor! I conveniently matched this piece with my black crew cut top (from my archived samples), my red beaded necklace to bring out the red in the skirt and my fav mustard heels that was a dead on match with my prized piece.

Still paying homage to my African roots, here’s another work favorite that solicited a lot of intrigued comments:

This full piece from the Exotic Collection of Ophelia Crosslands, a gift from my home girl Abby, is yet another Ghanaian masterpiece that shows how the modern styles and traditional fabric can provide a darling number for your work closet.  

So my dear fashionista in the diaspora, I wouldn’t get rid of my African fabrics just yet if I were you, send those bad boys back home with some measurement and see an increase in your work closet.

3 Responses to “Memoirs of a Closet Freak – Take 7: Best of Both Worlds”

  1. Maxine August 25, 2011 at 7:37 pm #

    Very nice!

  2. PearlsPeeptoesPretty August 26, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    I remember that second outfit! I was intrigued too! African prints CAN fit in the work place too. I have a few dresses that look like I bought them from Macys. Throw a blazer over them and voila! You look lovely as always.

  3. Hillary July 20, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

    Love the looks! Too cool for school! Haute girl!

Leave a Reply

