Memoirs of a Closet Freak – Going half on a baby…

16 Dec

Hey y’all! So I have been in hiatus for a minute…I had a whole winter-fall line up for you until fate threw a wrench in my plans. Uncontrollable circumstances, or so they call it but a good one at that! It seems my figure is being threatened by the demands of motherhood again! Seeing that Fall is my favorite fashion season, I broke out in a brief panic because I realized that this development could have the potential to stump my personal expression of style. Just as fast as that fleeting thought came to me so did it dissipate! Lesson learnt – ones style should never be compromised…despite the situation or circumstance. I mean its your style so why should a couple of extra baby fat redefine what is yours. So my ‘midnight cravings’ were matched with my unwavering love for boots, jackets, scarves, gloves and other Fall goodies. My mission: simple – to accommodate my baby bump in a very fashionable way. There was no way I was going to let my temporary growing girth dictate my style and have me fall victim to unflattering maternity attire. Nine months was too long a time to put my style on hold!

To commence my ‘baby bump watch’, my style of choice gravitated towards leggings, tights and sweater dresses – very appropriate for the season at hand. However, already half way through my pregnancy, my love for pants could not be ignored. It was inevitable, I had to deal with my possible fashion nightmare – maternity pants!!!! Yikes! Or so I thought until my visit to my neighborhood Motherhood Maternity store. To my fashionable mothers-to-be…there is hope…and a lot of it! Can you say stylish designer pants, leggings, jeans and wait for it…skinny jeans…yup, I said it …maternity skinny jeans that actually fit even better than normal skinnies! I was like a kid in a candy store. As I literally ran from one end of the store to the other, it just hit me… my panic of a threatened style was so unwarranted. Who said pregnancy was all about comfort and no style! Here you could have both!

So in addition to the surge of hair and nail growth, and the so called ‘pregnancy glow’, I still have my style to rely on!

Here are some of my favorite pant picks so far….

My cheesy grin says it all…these black skinny pants make a wonderful closet companion during the work week and during leisure outings! It’s no surprise this item got a seal of approval from Heidi Klum, the world’s hottest mother! I mean she has had her share of pregnancies so you would only think she knows what she is talking about! With such an endorsement how could you possibly go wrong! More importantly they are affordable and comfortable as hell! Definitely a must have in your maternity collection!

Next item on the block (below) is this uber fitting designer jeans. The thing that tickles my fancy with this item is its fit and length. I can still wear my heels (yes I still wear heels and I’m not ashamed to say it) and it definitely passes the pant length to heel ratio (no high waters or hanging pants in these parts)! Of course I love the dark blue color that makes it appropriate for the day and night time and definitely a perfect contender for work as well.

A girl can never have too many skinnies…still on the hunt for some white ones but in the meantime I will settle for these denim skinnies that allow expectant mummies to also be stylish or better yet join the skinny revolution even during the nine to ten months of incubation.

No baby was harmed or squeezed during this production. All featured pants have a control spandex top that perfectlyaccomodates, covers and holds belly in place, and allows free movement and uttermost comfort for both mother and child.

3 Responses to “Memoirs of a Closet Freak – Going half on a baby…”

  1. Busola December 16, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

    You look fabulous! Always! You have put me to shame – I’m not pregnant and I can’t walk around in heels yet you do it with such elegance! Congrats, and best wishes to you and baby-on-the-way!

    • ajabeasi December 16, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

      Thank you Busola and as always thanks for reading. You guys are my inspiration! As for the heels, I do cheat a bit when no one is looking…formed a great bond with my sneakers nowadays!!! lol

  2. Keisha Lynn March 7, 2012 at 8:40 pm #

    You are a true fashionista… not to many can look good like you do and let alone while with child!

Leave a Reply

