Memoirs of a Closet Freak – Color Edition: Realizing Red

26 Jul

This summer, as the temperatures reach a sizzling hot, so is it necessary that your closet packs a little steam and what better color spells fierce with a capital ‘F’ – Red! The color red is that great complimentary color that practically can be matched with almost every other color or pattern. Adding a little spice to ones closet is what the color red does best…and who does not want a little sizzle in their life.

Here are some of my favorite red combos:

Red with solids:

One of my cool steals of the summer is my tapered skinny red pants from H&M. Not only was its price quite yummy ( definitely not a bank smasher) but its cut, back zip and convenient belt holes give it a vintage yet modern feel. This item coupled with my lightweight tunic styled navy blouse with white trimmings (yet another summer steal from T.J. Maxx)and matched with my off white open-toe pumps (Aldo Outlet) gives a preppy sophisticated look ideal for a summer day at the office. 

Red with strips and color:

You need a resounding solid color to pull off a multiple color effect and my next ensemble shows you how red is perfect for the job. This ensemble shows one of red’s many talents – to keep grounded a mixture of colors and patterns. Again my red pants doing what it does best with one of my favorite summer purchases: my yellow blazer – definitely a closet must-have and a black and white striped tank top combined to give an ideal color blocking effect. 

Red with patterns:

Red can definitely hold its own and is never intimidated by patterns and other colors. Although I may have gone a bit soft on the red with a simple pattern like poka dots in the next outfit, just remember red can definitely do stronger so you just bring it! This time around I have sought the versatile appeal of my red pencil skirt (also a very important summer purchase from Express) beneath my flirty black and white poka dot shirt. My red thin belt ties up the ensemble nicely, allowing some emphasis on my waist. The look is corporate ready as well as ideal for some delightful cocktails during happy hour:

Your reds can go a very long way in putting some pizzazz into your closet, its just a matter of realizing red and making it work for you!

One Response to “Memoirs of a Closet Freak – Color Edition: Realizing Red”

  1. Maame-Serwaa July 26, 2012 at 10:56 pm #

    Great looks here! I love that yellow blazer, its the perfect shade.

Leave a Reply

